Chiropractor

I’d never seen a chiropractor until two years ago. I was never anti-chiropractor, but I was always pretty skeptical of them. With Peter’s old job we had an insurance benefit that allowed us to see a chiropractor and massage therapist for $5, so obviously I took advantage of that a few times a month for two years. I love, love a good massage, but the chiropractor I could for sure live without. I was never very impressed. I thought it was nice, but I never felt like it made any bit of difference in how I felt when I walked out. Had an adjustment not come with an hour long massage, I would never have gone back.

When I did my second round of IVF I saw an acupuncturist/chiropractor twice a week in an effort to do every single thing I could possibly do to make the IVF successful. I think that it was a positive thing. I don’t want to go as far as to say that IVF worked because of it, but I’m glad I did it and I do think it made some sort of difference on some level.

Last week I went to my regular 35 week checkup which included a sonogram. I learned that the baby was transverse. My doctor immediately scheduled a c-section and said there was absolutely nothing I could do to help the baby move to a head-down position. Nothing at all. I liked her ok until that moment. She pretended to be disappointed for me since I wanted to avoid a c-section, but I actually thought she seemed a little happy about it. She told me that a c-section would work out great for her Thanksgiving plans, but a day of labor would not. Yikes.

I left my appointment pretty bummed. My friend called me right away and told me that her baby was breech at 37 weeks and she went to a chiropractor who specialized in flipping babies. I was willing to give anything a shot so I went to see the chiropractor a few days later.

I had been having a lot of back pain, which was making the rest of me pretty uncomfortable as well (I’m not sure I really even connected that my discomfort was due to my back pain). I rarely felt the baby move and I never felt kicks/pokes. I only felt occasional vague stretching type movements. I was even throwing up more and more frequently as time was going on.

The chiropractor changed everything! When I first laid down she felt the baby. She felt how he was positioned (she was right on, according to my ultrasound) and agreed that baby was not head down. She adjusted my back and when I stood up I immediately knew something was different. My belly was shaped differently (more out, less wide), my back pain was gone, and I felt better from head to toe. I’m throwing up less now, I’m feeling kicks, pokes and normal baby movements all the time. I didn’t even realize how poor I’d been feeling until I stood up immediately feeling normal. She felt my belly again and she was pretty certain that he was head down at that point. I could feel her hands around what for sure seemed like a nice round little head. I was shocked that baby could flip and I could feel so much better in a matter of minutes.

I didn’t want to get my hopes up, so I waited until my ultrasound a week later (yesterday) to celebrate that the baby is head down! Yayyyyy! No more c-section, unless something changes. I totally give credit to the chiropractor for this.

Let me be clear, I am in no way anti c-section. If I need a c-section I will welcome being sliced open to keep me and my baby safe. But the idea of healing from a c-section with a sweet toddler who loves to snuggle on my lap and read stories sounds pretty miserable. I’d like to avoid that if possible.

Baby will be here in about three weeks!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chiropractor

  1. Paige says:

    That’s WONDERFUL news! And how amazing that it made such a big difference in how you feel and how much you feel him moving around! Our little guy was breech up until about a week ago. The doctor wasn’t particularly hopeful that he would turn around so late in the game, so we thought we were headed the scheduled C-section route as well. We’re pretty excited that he finally figured things out and turned on his own. Never would have thought to try a chiropractor. Good luck in the home stretch!

Leave a Reply

