Pie Night 2014

browniepiePie Night 2014 was a success! We had about 30 adults and 15 kids, 19 pies (18 different varieties), and about 6-7 mini pies. I was nervous about getting it all done because my parents weren’t here to help me this year, so I started earlier than normal. I did as much prep work as I could (making crusts, chopping nuts, making caramel sauce and hot fudge, crushing oreos, etc). It made the day of seem like a breeze! The favorite pie of the night was Brownie Pie, which is amazing and deserves all the attention it got.

pienight2014THE PIES:

  1. Apple Cider Cream in a pastry crust: New pie. This pie was loved by everyone, but I was just sort of impressed. I will for sure make again because everyone loved it (it was the #2 favorite!), but I didn’t think it was amazing.
  2. Banana Blueberry in a graham cracker crust: This is a very good, very easy pie. I always get a lot of comments on it and requests for the recipe. People really love it.
  3. Banana Cream in a pastry crust: This wasn’t my best work.
  4. Brownie in a pastry crust: This might have been the best brownie pie I’ve ever made. I used Cacao Barry cocoa, and it made a huge difference. I always use good cocoa, but this was a whole new level.
  5. Caramel Toffee Crunch Cheesecake in a graham cracker toffee crust: New. Omg delicious. I have thought about this cheesecake almost daily since Pie Night, two months ago. So, so good.
  6. Chocolate Cream in an oreo crust: I used Cacao Barry cocoa in this pie. I think I prefer a less dark cocoa in this recipe, so I won’t do that again.
  7. Dreamy Apple in a pastry crust: One person told me this was the best pie they had ever had. It really is a fantastic pie.
  8. French Silk in a pastry crust: I overbeat this pie and it didn’t set up. I froze it and served it anyway. It was good, but it wasn’t it’s normal fantastic whippy, creamy self.
  9. Ginger Pecan Chocolate in a pastry crust: New. I was the only person who even tried a slice of this pie. It was too gingery, but without all the excess ginger…yum! I will make this again next year with less ginger.
  10. Gingered Apple-Cranberry in a pastry crust: This was not my best work. It wasn’t sweet enough and it was way too dry. I was pretty disappointed because this is my very favorite holiday pie.
  11. Lemon Sour Cream in a gingersnap crust: New. So fantastic. This is a keeper for sure.
  12. Peanut Butter Bacon in an oreo crust: Gross. I’m over this pie. I didn’t even put it out. I’ve said for the past two years I wouldn’t make it again, but next year I definitely won’t!
  13. Peanut Butter in an oreo crust: Disappeared! This is always such a crowd pleaser. People who don’t like pie even like this pie.
  14. Pecan in a pastry crust: This is for sure the best pecan pie I’ve ever had. I’ve decided people just don’t like pecan pie. I love it, my best friend loves it, but other than that no one ever really touches it. I will keep making it for myself (and my BFF if she ever comes to Texas!), and because it’s a classic and sooooo good.
  15. Peppermint in an oreo crust: I make this because people love it (especially kids), but it’s sort of embarrassing to put next to all the homemade pies. Next year I will make my own peppermint ice cream.
  16. Pumpkin in a pastry crust (2): I made the recipe from First Prize Pies. It had a very molasses taste, which I didn’t like. But I had a leftover slice on day three and it was super good! I’ll make this recipe again, I’ll just make it ahead of time.
  17. Rootbeer Float in a gingersnap and vanilla wafer crust: New. Meh. This is another recipe from First Prize Pies. The consistency of this was interesting. I think I’ll try it again but I think it needs a little tweaking. I love the idea of a rootbeer pie and want to try to make it work for next year.
  18. Salty Honey in a pastry crust: This never made it to the table. It was from Four and Twenty Blackbird Pie Book and I was not impressed. I messed it up, but I wasn’t upset about that because it wasn’t good. Don’t even try it. I’ve actually talked to three people who have tried the recipe and everyone agrees that it’s gross.

THE TOPPINGS:

  • Whipped Cream
  • Lemon Whipped Cream: My favorite! This is perfect on Gingered Apple-Cranberry, Pumpkin, Banana Blueberry.
  • Cinnamon Whipped Cream: I think I’ll skip this next year. Not one person touched it. It’s good on pumpkin pie and dreamy apple pie, but I think people are sort of intimidated by it.
  • Vanilla Ice Cream: Exactly one scoop was taken from this. It was probably Peter, who CAN’T eat apple pie without a 50/50 ratio of pie/ice cream. I don’t like ice cream on pie under any circumstance. I think I’ll skip this next year.

THE FAVORITES: We always take a poll of the favorites, but this year we made it more official and had people vote on a poster before they left. The favorites went in this order:

  1. Brownie
  2. Apple Cider Cream
  3. Caramel Toffee Crunch Cheesecake, Chocolate Cream, Peanut Butter
  4. Banana Blueberry, Banana Cream
  5. Apple, French Silk
  6. Lemon Sour Cream, Pumpkin
  7. Peppermint, Rootbeer Float
  8. No one gave any votes to Ginger Pecan Chocolate, Pecan, Ginger Apple Cranberry, or Peanut Butter Bacon
This entry was posted in Dessert, Pie and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Pie Night 2014

  1. Pingback: Apple Cider Cream Pie | the sommerkorns

  2. Pingback: Caramel Toffee Crunch Cheesecake | the sommerkorns

  3. Pingback: Lemon Sour Cream Pie | the sommerkorns

  4. mccallnewland says:

    So impressed! Tannon requests your brownie pie every year for his birthday. I’m going to have to try that cocoa next year! And I want to make that Caramel Toffee Crunch Cheesecake. Mmmm. I want to come help you with Pie Night some day!!

  5. Lara says:

    I’m considering flying to Texas next year for pie night…

  6. Mox says:

    Just a note to let you know that the Salty Honey pie is not a First Prize Pies recipe, it’s from Four and Twenty Blackbirds’ Pie Book.

  7. Pingback: Five thoughts | the sommerkorns

  8. Pingback: 35 Weeks Pregnant | the sommerkorns

Leave a Reply

