Peter’s new job

Peter took a new job! We are excited about it, but it will be a big change for our family because he’ll be home every night!

For the past year and a half that we’ve been in Texas, Peter has been traveling weekly. He’s been gone Monday-Thursday every week. He was going to a variety of different places, but mainly Charlotte, Philadelphia, St. Louis, Puerto Rico, and Nashville. Occasionally he took a longer trip, but for the most part he was just gone Monday-Thursday every week.

People were always surprised by his schedule and I think we got a fair amount of judgement because of it. The truth is, it worked for us. People often made obnoxious (and basically just plain rude) comments about our situation. I have strong opinions about that, just ask next time you see me in person. 🙂

I like change, but I try to enjoy every phase of life that I’m in and not look forward too much to what is next. I really enjoyed the past 1.5 years. I’m sort of sad to end this chapter of our lives, I’m going to miss it. It’s been a really, really good 1.5 years. Mostly I will miss my alone time with Henry. I love that Monday-Thursday there is no one else in the world but the two of us. Obviously we love having Peter home more, but I have enjoyed this temporary phase of having Henry all to myself.

I’m really happy about this new chapter for our family and thrilled that Peter is doing exactly what he wants to be doing. I’m proud of him.

This entry was posted in My Opinions, Our Life, Peter. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Peter’s new job

  1. Lara says:

    Congrats to the both of you! Exciting!

  2. Lesli says:

    So are you moving?

  3. anna says:

    2 things: First, I wish we lived closer so I could ask you about your opinions and also why people were judging??? I know lots of people who’s husbands travel for work. Second, Jason was in school until Clara was 18 months old. As much as we missed him and as much as I loved having him be done, I LOVED hanging out with Clara. I took her everywhere with me and we just had a lot of fun.

  4. Pingback: IVF #2 | the sommerkorns

Leave a Reply

