Fitbit

Peter’s company gave him a fitbit for Christmas. It sat in a drawer until I pulled it out at the beginning of April. I wasn’t sure if I’d like it but I think I do! I was surprised at how little I walked. I’m moving around all day, with the exception of naptime, but I still wasn’t even close to 10,000 steps a day (the daily recommended number of steps for an adult). Halfway through my first day I realized I wasn’t moving enough, so I tried to step it up to get more. I ended up with 8,485 steps. Since that day I’ve gotten 10,000+ each day, but it takes a lot of effort (mostly because I hate exercise). For the month of April my daily average was 11,205. To give you a little reference, Peter’s company does a competition and the guy with the most steps last month averaged 16,728 a day.

The sleep was really surprising. I knew I didn’t sleep enough, but I had no idea how little and how restless I was. I average 6 hours and 11 minutes of sleep. I am restless 10 times a night, for a total of 19 minutes.

This entry was posted in fitbit. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fitbit

  1. Lesli says:

    I know right? I thought I was going to have way more steps than Brent about 4 years ago when his work passed out pedometers. I had less even though my day is busier and I’m more active than him. Since he bragged about it. I quit after 4 days. In retrospect, he had to walk to class for MBA. The sleep intrigues me. Cheap pedometers don’t measure that.

  2. Pingback: Five thoughts | the sommerkorns

Leave a Reply

