My hopes for motherhood

I’m sure all mothers out there will scoff at this post, but here is my list of ideal (and possibly unrealistic) hopes for motherhood:

  1. I hope my child never looks like an orphan in public
  2. I hope I wipe my child’s nose when needed
  3. I hope to remember that I was a wife first, a mother second
  4. I hope I don’t tell people (besides grandmas and aunties) about the adorable things my child does. I hope to remember that no one cares except me (and grandmas and aunties)
  5. I hope to never say to a childless woman, “When you’re a mother…”
  6. I hope that people don’t think my son is a girl because I can’t part with his hair
  7. I hope to avoid “mommy guilt”, or at least avoid talking about it to anyone other than grandmas and aunties
  8. I hope my child rarely has a dirty face in public
  9. I hope I never think my baby’s mullet is cute, because it never, ever is
  10. I hope I trust other people to watch/feed/play with/diaper my child
  11. I hope to never compare my child to other children
  12. I hope to bathe my child when he starts to get even the slightest bit stinky, regardless if it’s bath day or not
  13. I’ve heard mommy-mode is inevitable, but I hope to avoid it as much as possible
  14. I hope my child grows up thinking I’m his #1 fan
This entry was posted in My Opinions. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My hopes for motherhood

  1. mccall says:

    Love this. My list before motherhood would have looked nearly identical. Some I have kept, some I have not. #4 is my favorite, and I still feel very strongly about it, and really hope that I live by it.

  2. anna says:

    No scoffing here. I never even thought about this type of thing before I had kids. I have done #1 and feel like it’s really hard to avoid completely when I have a little free spirit for a child. And #4? I think people care. I enjoy sharing stories with friends about what our kids do. People call Hazel a boy ALL THE TIME because she has so little hair. If your little guy has a lot of hair, and especially if it’s curly, I bet people will call him a girl until you cut it. What is “mommy mode”. I don’t have much mommy guilt… but sometimes I think I might be a better mother if I did. 🙂

  3. Lyndsay says:

    You know what they say in the South: “Show me a child with a dirty face, and I will show you a Mama with a filthy house.” This will never be you (or us) because, when times get tough, I will be happy to call in a maid service for you. What? You thought I was going to say that I would clean it myself? HA!

  4. Lara says:

    I love this. My favs are #3 and #14. You summed it up pretty darn good.

  5. cyndie says:

    Lyndsay, I don’t think I will ever be able to erase that from my mind.

  6. Emily says:

    This is awesome. Print it, frame it, and hang it above that giant La-Z-Boy.

Leave a Reply

