Seven Thoughts

  1. Peter started school last week. The last year of tripping over his backpack every time I walk in the door and cleaning pencil lead off the table has begun.
  2. Today I really wanted a milkshake. The only place I could think of with a parking lot that sells milkshakes was Cold Stone. Did you know a milkshake at Cold Stone costs $7.48? It was really good, but not $7.48 good.
  3. If any of you have opinions about baby supplies, please, please let me know. I’ve started shopping for baby stuff and the amount of choice is overwhelming.
  4. I have never considered myself a particularly lucky person, but in the past year Peter and I have found a $5 bill, a $10 bill, and a $20 bill on the ground.
  5. I tried to look at our Europe pictures a few days ago. The only thing I could think about was how hot I was all summer. Maybe in a few months the negative feelings will fade and I’ll only remember the awesome stuff.
  6. My building just got new washing machines. This makes me SOOOOO happy!!
  7. A big Sabra truck pulled up in front of my building today and was giving out free hummus and Stacy’s pita chips.
This entry was posted in My Opinions. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Seven Thoughts

  1. mkamosi says:

    1. I AM SO GLAD they replaced the washing machines!! They were a nightmare last year.

    2. Baby stuff: less is more. My favorite carrier for going places is the Beco Gemini, and a moby-style wrap for wearing the baby at home (I bought mine on LoveyDuds, an Etsy shop). I like the sleepers with zippers instead of buttons, they’re way easier in the middle of the night for diaper changes, etc., than all the little snaps. You want a bouncy seat so you can put the baby down easily/safely/comfortably. There are these awesome HUGE receiving-type blankets that Target sells, I’ll have to tell you the brand later, but I LOVE them. I like having a nursing cover, but it’s not a necessity–those Target blankets work great, too. I’d splurge on a great stroller, esp. since you’re in Boston. The City Select would probably be my top choice, esp. if you plan on ever having more than one child. I’m sure there are more . . . but these are my favorite things.

    3. Don’t they sell milkshakes across the street at the Baskin Robbins?

    I’m excited for you to have your baby!! πŸ™‚

  2. anna says:

    Baby supplies: if you are going to nurse, get a Boppy. Splurge on a nice chair for the baby’s room. Think about it, waking up multiple times during the night only gets worse by having to sit in an uncomfortable chair. πŸ™‚

  3. Joni says:

    I’m so excited for you. These are some of the things that I have loved. Aden & Anais Blankets. Love them. They are great for swaddling, covering, they are light weight. LOVE! A fisher price rock and play sleeper. I didn’t have this with James but have LOVED it with Logan. It is amazing. Check out the reviews. Pretty much everyone loves them. Especially for a small space – I think its a great way to go. I used a boppy for a short time with James and an even shorter time with Logan. I would maybe borrow one to see if you like it. I don’t have one but I have heard that the PUJ bathtub is awesome. It fits to any sink size and is super easy to store…lays flat. Mine is huge and doesn’t lay flat. I agree about getting a good stroller!!! That is a must. James used a pack in play as a bed for the first year of his life. It was nice that he was able to have HIS bed when we traveled. I think a pump is necessary, probably doesn’t matter what kind you get. I liked having a cover for the car seat. I feel like my babies are more protected from the following – people who think it is okay to touch your baby without asking, people who are coughing….for whatever reason, people who think that smoking next to a baby is ok and the super bright sun. I have loved the baby bjorn bibs. They catch a lot of food and are super easy to clean up. I really like the summer swaddleme wraps to use for new babies. It keeps their arms from continually hitting their little faces and waking them up. Oh and Carters onesies are my favorite. I feel like they fit better- stretch better – you can use them a little bit longer….

    Best of luck in your shopping.

    I have found that less is more. I got lots of stuff with James and haven’t used nearly as much with Logan.

  4. lehuntzin says:

    I love my Chicco Liteway Stroller, I wish I would have had it for my other two babies. It makes me actually want to walk, because its so awesome to push in comparison to what I had before (a graco and a sit and stand). When buying a carseat definitely go with one you can adjust the straps from the front strap, they are more expensive but well worth it. I’ve only ever had graco infant carseats, and I’ve had no complaints with them. I second the carseat canopy/tent, its nice to not have people shoving their hands in Adam’s face.

  5. Amy says:

    I agree on the boppy – I used it quite a bit to help Mya lay/sit on the floor when she was bigger, but it’s pretty awkward for nursing. Just grabbing a throw pillow to put under my arm always worked better. I also agree on the comfy chair. Not getting just the rocker I wanted was one of my biggest regrets. And make sure it’s a wider chair because you want to be able to sit and comfortably hold the baby there, that was my big regret – cute chair, WAY too narrow.

    I don’t know if you know about this site, but http://www.babysteals.com has cheap deals at 9 am and 9 pm every day and it’s one of those for sale until it’s gone type deals. Some stuff sells out instantly and other stuff will make it the whole 12 hours, but those Aden + Anais receiving blankets everyone is mentioning are on there a ton and half the price of Target when they are. Aside from those, I wouldn’t buy any blankets. They’re a very popular gift and just seem to multiply. Before you know it, you find yourself with more than you could ever possibly use and they take up a lot of space.

    I think everyone else summed up the really good stuff. The only thing I have to add is a Nose Frida. I believe it’s cheapest on Amazon, you’ll have to Google it. It looks gross, but it is AMAZING. So much better than even the best bulb syringe and works SO well. I’m convinced we’ve kept Mya from her colds ever making it to her chest because it works well enough the congestion never has a chance to work it’s way down. Plus, when babies get a stuffy nose, sadly, it’s the only thing you can do for them. Might as well do a good job! πŸ™‚

  6. $ says:

    I found a knock-off version of the Aiden and Anais blankets at Marshall’s that are fab. Two for $12.99. If you’re going to run at all, get a BOB Revolution stroller. Amazing. You will need an umbrella stroller for the airport–just make sure the handles are tall enough since you two are tall parents. We never used much bath stuff–our kids like the shower, and now we have a place with no tub, so we are fortunate that it’s not a perceived “need”. I like the ring-style sling for around the house/church. It doubles as a nursing cover/blanket. I love the Baby Bjorn carrier for truly hands-free activities and for getting through the airport/walks until about 6 months old. We have the Graco Snug-Ride infant carrier carseat–cheaper than most and buy an extra base for the other car, and you’re good to go for a year. Good choice if you want the travel system option. When it comes to a big-boy carseat, definitely, definitely the Britax Marathon. Worth the money, though I scored one on Craigslist that was immaculate for $40. That’s it. Just find a way to carry the kids where you want them to go, and most of your problems are solved. Oh, and learn to nurse laying down. That was the best advice I ever got.

  7. Heather says:

    I chime in on the boppy debate. I tried one and it didn’t really work for me. Being tall, when I put it around my waist, It didn’t reach up to my chest for nursing, and it didn’t fit close enough to my body to support the baby close to me.
    I ended up getting a “my brest friend” (worst name ever, but you can look past it). It wraps all the way around your body and buckles closed. It has a back support pillow and fit closely to me. I loved it enough to pack in my luggage when I’d travel with a young baby. It doesn’t work as a baby prop for tummy time, but I just used a rolled up blanket….. that is, when I remembered to do tummy time…

Leave a Reply

