Switzerland is hot

I’m so sick of being hot. SO sick of it. Today it is 91 degrees.

Switzerland has little to no air conditioning. Again, it’s like the Swiss don’t recognize being uncomfortable.

People say that Switzerland doesn’t need air conditioning because it only gets warm enough to require A/C a few days a year. That is a lie. It has been 80+ degrees more days than I can count so far this summer. They also say that they don’t use A/C because it ruins the environment. I don’t care about the environment enough to be sweaty for three months of the year.

I’ve lived in hot apartments before, but at least I had the option of turning the air up and cooling off when necessary. In America while you’re at work, at the gym, at the library, at the mall, or at the grocery store, you can escape the heat. There is no escaping it here. In fact, I’m better off staying home with a fan blowing in my face than I am at the stuffy grocery store with a hundred other hot/sweaty people. PLUS, the walk/bus ride to the stuffy grocery store is terrible in the heat.

Next time you are putting your groceries in your car on a hot day, think of me in Switzerland, walking home with my groceries in 80+ degree weather.

Next time you are sitting in your air conditioned office, think of Peter in Switzerland, dressed in work clothes sitting in an office with a hundred other people and a hundred computers running, and florescent lights beaming above in 80+ degree weather. I would buy him this Ice Cube Vest if it would fit in our teeny-tiny freezer.

Next time you crawl into your cool bed in your air conditioned house, think of us in Switzerland, hot.

When I get back to Boston in 24 days I’m going to run my A/C full-blast all day every day, just because I can.

This entry was posted in My Opinions, Switzerland. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Switzerland is hot

  1. Emily says:

    Thinking of you 🙂

  2. Anonymous says:

    Liz, just reading your post makes me want to cry. There is something about being pregnant that makes it feel 20 degrees hotter than it really is. Everytime I step outside my door, the sweating begins. I can’t imagine not being able to get a way from it. I think my Peter would love it. He likes punishing himself. When I came back from Wa he had the AC set at 78 degrees.

  3. candice says:

    That last comment was from Candice

  4. Pingback: Basel, Switzerland | the sommerkorns

  5. Pingback: Swiss Doctor | the sommerkorns

  6. Pingback: We’re Home! « an SO of an MIT LGO

Leave a Reply

