Swiss discomfort

I’ve decided that the Swiss people have a very high tolerance for discomfort. Americans do not.

For example, today the weather in Basel is very sunny, 73 degrees with 44% humidity. Perfect summer weather! I wore a t-shirt and was actually quite warm (even a little hot) while walking around in the bright sun. The Swiss people, however, were bundled up in sweaters, jackets, and I even saw several pairs of leg warmers!

I have a family member who always says that he will someday die of “mild discomfort”. Since living here and having so many of my comforts taken away, I too think I might die of mild discomfort. Unnecessary discomfort is stupid.

This entry was posted in My Opinions, Switzerland. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Swiss discomfort

  1. Pingback: Switzerland is hot | the sommerkorns

  2. Josep says:

    The first paragraph should say “high tolerance for heat”. I think it comes from the way they’ve been living for centuries. If you wear long-sleeved clothes for a long time, your body gets used to it. Given the climate differences, that shouldn’t be much of a surprise.

Leave a Reply

