Peter’s reaction to my pregnancy

As I mentioned, I was very surprised to discover I was pregnant, and it took some time for it to sink in. My unbelief was nothing compared to Peter’s. He was in Switzerland when I found out, so I think being removed from my constant sickness made the whole thing less believable for him.

After five at-home pregnancy tests taken over the course of two days, Peter still wasn’t convinced, so I went to a doctor for a blood test. The nurse called and said, “You’re definitely pregnant, and your hormone levels suggest that you’ve been pregnant for a while. You need to see your OB asap.”

I called Peter in Switzerland right away. He still didn’t believe it, and he insisted I go to another doctor. The next day I went to a different facility and had another blood test. They called me back with the same response as the first doctor and insisted I come in for an ultrasound to measure the fetus to see how far along I was.

When I went in the next day for an ultrasound, I was sort of expecting to see nothing on the screen and have them tell me I wasn’t pregnant after all (you know, a cheeseball sort of pregnancy). I was completely shocked to see a tiny blob with a beating heart.

!!!!!!!

I texted Peter:

“I’m looking at a heartbeat.”

His response:

“Are you kidding?”

I can’t describe what it was like to go from having zero expectation of pregnancy to seeing a heartbeat inside me in a matter of days. So weird.

So in all, Peter required me to take five at-home tests, get two blood tests from two separate doctors, and have an ultrasound before he was convinced it wasn’t a false positive. Even then he was very hesitant about the situation.

Nine weeks into my pregnancy, in true Peter fashion, he sent me an article about the cost of raising a child. That was the day I knew he was truly convinced.

We are really excited.

This entry was posted in Our Life. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Peter’s reaction to my pregnancy

  1. Linz says:

    So, so, so excited for you!

  2. lehuntzin says:

    I always find it hard to believe I’m pregnant. I never want to take a pregnancy test, but Brent always convinces me. Then I normally have to wait to see my OB, another month. This time, Christmas break distracted Brent from the test, I put off so long, I didn’t have to wait at all.
    By the way, congrats!

  3. Jamie says:

    I know that surreal, unbelieving feeling. So glad that you finally get your little baby!

  4. Kenna says:

    Love it! I’ve got tears I’m so excited (the tears are probably cause I’m prego but I am truly that excited for you both)!!!!!

  5. Triana says:

    SOOOOO excited for you guys!!! That is awesome!!! And when I found out I was pregnant with my first… oh man the disbelief was uncanny! Glad to know I’m not the only one that needs that much proof!

  6. Lara says:

    That is seriously awesome. We couldn’t be happier for you guys!!!!

  7. Lari says:

    How exciting! My pregnancy was a total surprise as well. I think you guys are handling it better than I did. I think I just cried for a while after I tested positive on my at home pregnancy test. The joy came later.

  8. mccall says:

    I don’t know what my deal is, but I got teary-eyes reading this. I’m so excited for you!

  9. mccall says:

    *eyed

  10. Pingback: My brain tumor | the sommerkorns

Leave a Reply

