The day I found out I was pregnant (in a Target bathroom)

A few months ago I started feeling very tired. Like, so tired I thought I might die. A sort of tired I’ve never experienced before. I started sleeping more, but it didn’t help. The tiredness continued and soreness and nausea started about two weeks later. After a few weeks of feeling crummy, my friend suggested I might be pregnant. Um…no. I dismissed her suggestion time and time again. Then one morning I threw up. Could I be? No. Probably just the flu.

While out running errands that day, I picked up a pregnancy test. It was terribly embarrassing because I was very certain it would be negative.

Later that day I was on the phone with Peter (who was in Switzerland) and I took the test. It turned positive right away. I laughed, and told Peter what I had just done. He laughed. Clearly I had purchased a faulty test. We both brushed it off, convinced it was incorrect.

I was out shopping with the same friend later that day, and told her what I had done. She marched me straight to Target to get another test (actually, four more tests). I took them right there in the Target bathroom. Sure enough, positive.

!!!!!

This entry was posted in Our Life. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The day I found out I was pregnant (in a Target bathroom)

  1. Amy says:

    I LOVE this story! How exciting and what a lucky baby! I am so happy for you and Peter, congratulations!!! 🙂

  2. Alisa says:

    You can always count on Target to be there for the important events in your life. Congratulations! I’m pretty sure I’ve never hugged you, but I wish I could right now.

  3. Pingback: Peter’s reaction to my pregnancy | the sommerkorns

  4. Julia says:

    You forgot to mention you were suppose to meet me for lunch!!!! Haha so happy for y’all!!!

  5. Anonymous says:

    Yea! Yea! Yea! Yea! Yea! I’m just BUSTIN’ out thrilled! You know, Oregon is a nice place to raise a baby……. Wubba, Cousin Jen

  6. Pingback: My brain tumor | the sommerkorns

  7. Pingback: IVF #2 | the sommerkorns

Leave a Reply

