Thoughts in Europe

  1. The first time I went to Paris (10+ years ago) I swore I’d never go back. It was July, it was hot, it was dirty, there were crowds everywhere, and everyone smelled terrible. I expected to be similarly disenchanted with Paris this time around, but I really enjoyed myself. I officially like Paris.
  2. I saw some seriously gross teeth in Paris. I’m not just talking lack of orthodontia, I’m talking lack of toothbrushes and floss. I did not notice this problem in Switzerland.
  3. People who cut in lines are the worst (or as Peter says, “the scum of society along with people who don’t return their shopping carts to the cart return”). Wait your turn, people.
  4. Hair in Europe is just hair. No color. No style. Little product. Just hair. Frizzy was frizzy, straight was straight, curly was curly. This is not my style. I have been forcing my hair to do the opposite of what it wants to do my whole life.
  5. Europeans have brighter skin, clearer eyes, and walk taller than Americans.
  6. I saw almost no bare legs in Paris. Everyone was wearing tights (ranging from nude nylons to opaque tights). Lots and lots of short skirts/shorts with tights. The only bare legs I saw were on American tourists.
  7. Why do ALL European bathrooms that have showers have the faint smell of mold? All of them. It was the first thing I noticed when I walked into our new apartment in Switzerland because it smelled just like Sweden.
  8. The Paris subway is by far the most disgusting subway I’ve ever been in. I’m pretty lenient when it comes to subways because subways are disgusting by nature. Paris takes disgusting subways to a whole new level.
This entry was posted in My Opinions, Switzerland. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Thoughts in Europe

  1. Lindsay says:

    A lot of the people in DC don’t do their hair. It drove me crazy. A little style/color/flat iron can do a lot for someone’s look.

  2. Emily says:

    I all the sudden feel very european with my lack of hair styling. I do, however, brush and floss.

  3. $ says:

    Oh, leave the poor Europeans’ hair alone. They’re busy. They shop for food more than once a month and walk places. Of course they also get the month of August off. Hmmm….it’s a love/hate relationship. But, if you want to harsh on a subway, you ain’t seen nuttin’ ’til you go to Rome. Sorry, Rome. Heinous.

  4. lehuntzin says:

    I hate when people put the style of “subway tiles” in their house, either bathroom or kitchen, even though they post clean pictures all I can think of is dirty subways. When I picture or hear subways all I think of is Paris and Buenos Aires.

Leave a Reply

