Paris

Last weekend we went to Paris and Strasbourg.

Have you ever wondered how many miles you walk as a tourist? I have. I used my pedometer this weekend, and now I know.

Day 1 (Paris): 12.63 miles
Day 2 (Paris): 12.5 miles
Day 3 (Paris/Strasbourg): 6.6 miles

Assuming that an average tourist (we were very average with no fast walking, we rode trains/boats, we took several ice cream breaks, we slept in and went back to the hotel early) probably walks 10+ miles a day, I find the shoe choices of women tourists so strange.

Heels: Women tourists in heels are always walking like hobbled horses. No one can wear a heel for 10+ miles comfortably. No one. You look ridiculous, no matter how cute your heels are.
Ballet flats: Flats can be very comfortable, but not for 10 miles. You’re going to have band-aids stuck to your heels after one day of sockless flats on a warm day. I saw countless women sitting down resting their bright red band-aided feet. It looked very uncomfortable.
Boots: Boots become heavy and hot after too much time. Tourists in stylish boots always seem to be slugging around like Chewbacca.

I don’t understand why more women tourists don’t stick with sneaks or other sensible shoes. Save the fancy shoes for a day when you won’t be walking 10+ miles. But as you know, I’ve never really understood the attraction to shoes other than sneaks.

This entry was posted in My Opinions, Our Life, Vacation. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Paris

  1. joni says:

    My MIL always wears heals when traveling. In fact she wore a pair of wedges to go hiking.

  2. anna says:

    I wore my running shoes to prepare dinner last night. 🙂

  3. Jenny says:

    I’m so, so jealous! I’m so glad you had a good time! 🙂

  4. Pingback: Paris 2 | the sommerkorns

  5. Pingback: We’re Home! « an SO of an MIT LGO

Leave a Reply

