We’re Moving!

I wrote this several weeks ago, but didn’t want to post it until we were ready to leave. Since then we’ve had a hiccup in the plan, but the hiccup deserves a post of its own.

We’re moving to Basel, Switzerland! We leave at the end of the February and we’ll be gone for six months. Peter will be doing an internship at Novartis.

FAQs:

  • We will live in a one-bedroom apartment about a 15 minute walk from Peter’s new office, and right around the corner from a little cafe. While Peter is at work, I’ll be brunching on fresh bread and cheese.
  • No, we won’t have a car. Since I’ll be doing lots of walking, I bought a pedometer. I thought it would be really fun to keep track of how many miles I walked after six months of being car-less. Should be interesting.
  • This will be the best six-month vaycay (for me, anyway) ever.
  • Our apartment is a few blocks from the Rhine River, and about two miles from France and Germany.
  • When we return to Boston in August, Peter will have one year of school left.
  • Basel is in the German speaking part of Switzerland. We will both attempt to learn a few phrases in German, and hope to find some sort of German class.
  • There is a ward in Basel (German speaking), and it’s a five minute walk from our apartment.
  • Brown sugar and Crisco are not available in Switzerland. I will bring a six month supply.
  • I will not be able to use my smart phone in Switzerland. I can’t even imagine this.
  • Come visit!
This entry was posted in Our Life, Peter. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to We’re Moving!

  1. Joni says:

    Oh my goodness. I love Switzerland! I seriously wish I would be able to visit. I would bring Crisco and Brown sugar and my two favorite boys….and of course we would need a tour from our favorite guide, Liz. I’m so excited for you.

  2. anna says:

    That sounds AWESOME!! I don’t have many regrets, but one of them is that I would have been more “exciting” like this before I settled down too much. Now I secretly hope Jason gets a job with an international firm that we can live abroad for a few months. Hopefully you’ll blog a lot in those 6 months. 🙂

  3. anna says:

    My regret is that I wasn’t more… not that I would have been. 🙂

  4. Lara says:

    For real?!? That is so sweet!!! So excited for you guys and this adventure! A little jealous too!

  5. melhoney says:

    sounds like a dream…..

    fun!

  6. mccall says:

    Um, what? That’s amazing news. Totally crazy that you can’t get brown sugar & Crisco there! You’re going to have a blast! Can’t wait to read about your adventures.

  7. Amy says:

    Um, does this mean the Utah trip in May is off? How exciting! You and Peter are seriously too of the coolest people I know.

  8. Anonymous says:

    I’m excited for you guys. Can’t wait to see all the blog news and PICTURES! Let me know and I’ll send you brown sugar in a care package. Crisco … not. Hugs!

  9. Donna Julian says:

    Oops… I’m the above anonymous. Aunt Donna (-:

  10. jennie says:

    I cannot believe that! How amazing! Have so much fun!!!

  11. Kenna says:

    How fun!! I hope you guys have a splendid time. It sounds like an awesome vacation!

  12. Jocelyn says:

    Hi Liz! We just found out we’re going to be joining you and Peter in Switzerland! Can’t wait! Also, the Bachelor is going to Switzerland!!! I will be taking notes…

  13. Pingback: The Bachelor — Week 9 | the sommerkorns

  14. Pingback: I’M not moving | the sommerkorns

Leave a Reply

