Pie Night 2011

Pie Night was a big success this year. All 18 pies (only 14 actually made it to the table) were made in my miniature kitchen in 1.5 days. I measured my kitchen so you could all feel sorry for me:
• Floor space: 4 feet x 4 feet

• Counter space: 3 feet x 4 feet
• Oven size: 16 inches x 16 inches x 16 inches  (with only one rack)
• One saucepan
• Nine bowls

I need to give a special shout-out to Ashleigh for spending her birthday helping me in the kitchen. And to Lyndsay for keeping Peter company (um…out of my way) all day, and for making diet coke and grocery runs. And to Brad for taking all the pictures.

The question I get asked most often about pie is if I make my own crust. YES. I make ALL of the crust from scratch with my bare hands and a pastry blender.

We had FOUR pie casualties throughout the day:
• One Peanut Butter Bacon Pie that accidentally slipped out of the freezer onto the floor
• Two Tollhouse Pies that looked gross and basically went straight from oven to trash
• One Pumpkin Pie that had burned edges and was too ugly to serve


TRADITIONAL PIE NIGHT PIES:
• Pumpkin Pie in a pastry crust
Banana Blueberry Pie in a graham crust
Banana Cream Pie in a pastry crust
Peanut Butter Pie in an oreo cookie crust
French Silk Pie in a pastry crust
Brownie Pie in a pastry crust
Chocolate Cream Pie 4 in an oreo cookie crust
Chocolate Cream Pie 1 in a pastry crust
Gingered Apple-Cranberry Pie double crusted in pastry
Dreamy Apple Pie in a pastry crust
Pecan Pie in a pastry crust

NEW PIES:
Peanut Butter Bacon Pie in a chocolate cookie crust
Peppermint Ice Cream Pie in an oreo crust
• Key Lime Pie in a graham crust (recipe found here, nothing special, it won’t make the cut for next year)

TOPPINGS:
• Whipped Cream
Lemon Whipped Cream (for Gingered Apple-Cranberry Pie, Pumpkin Pie, and Blueberry Banana Pie)
• Cinnamon Whipped Cream (for Apple Pies, Pumpkin Pie, and Chocolate Pie)
Hot Fudge
• Oreo pieces
Chocolate curls

Putting together the table was a bit tricky since all my dishes, pie plates, pitchers, tablecloths, decor, etc. are across the country in storage. But we made do. Luckily I live within 5 miles of several Home Goods and Target stores.

We jammed 29 adults and 4 children into our teeny apartment. Immediately after the last guest left, Peter got down on his hands and knees and scrubbed our rugs clean while I wiped whipped cream fingerprints off of every other surface.

I asked almost every guest which pie was their favorite. The favorites of the night were Gingered Apple-Cranberry, Peanut Butter Bacon, and Banana Blueberry. The least eaten pie was the Dreamy Apple Pie, which is weird because it’s crazy good.

Time to start planning Pie Night 2012!

This entry was posted in Pie, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Pie Night 2011

  1. mccall says:

    i want to come to pie night 2012.

    and did you say peanut butter BACON pie?

  2. Mom Williams says:

    Your pie night sounds wonderful!! I love it, love it! You are incredible. I can’t even imagine making so many scrumptious pies with so little space. It takes a lot of genius. I’m trying to decide if I can do even one of those. We are trying tho imagine the peanut butter and bacon.Was it sweet? I’m sorry that you threw some in the trash.I wou

    ld have eaten it. Looks aren’t everything. you can start you own tv show. Im glad Peter got on on some of the action, even

    • Mom Williams says:

      (even of it was scrubbng the floor.

      With your having so much space we might want to come and stay with you. Thanks for sharing. Love you guys.

  3. anna says:

    peanut butter bacon… that sounds disgusting but i’ve never had something with bacon that i didn’t like. i can’t wait for the recipe!

  4. Katie says:

    I’m mourning the loss of the toll house pies! Everything looks amazing…not that I am surprised.One of these years we will be near enough to join you for pie night!

  5. You do this all so well. I can still take queues from you. I would love to do a pie night with you one year – or maybe stay out of the way and take notes 🙂

  6. Jenny says:

    You amaze me! Looks so, so good!!!

  7. Pingback: Peanut Butter Bacon Pie | the sommerkorns

  8. Alex says:

    Pie Night 2011, I never knew you.

  9. Anonymous says:

    LOL I want you to know I was skimming google images for something to put on my pie night invites for this year and photos from this blog came up (I recognized them as yours) and thought I’d let you know. 🙂

Leave a Reply

