Cleaning Boston Apt. #3

We were lucky enough to get the keys to our new apartment a week before our move-in date so I had plenty of time to scrub it clean. It was already sort of clean, but not nearly as clean as I like.

I ended up spending a small fortune on cleaning supplies.

The two worst parts were the bathroom floor and the kitchen drawer handles. I spent a fair amount of time researching the best ways to clean grout (see tips below).

TOTALLY gross. Can you believe the previous tenants touched these disgusting handles and put their bare feet on that bathroom floor? I SERIOUSLY judge them.

Other than these two things, the place looked ok. The walls had been freshly painted and the floor had been freshly shellacked.

Remember when I was doubting that living in campus housing was worth a roughly $12,000/year savings? It totally is. Despite the grossness of this post, I really like living here.

Grout cleaning tips:

  • Do very small sections at a time or you will end up pushing dirt from one section into the next
  • A toothbrush is useless, use a grout brush
  • Zep grout cleaner is a very good solution
  • For a more “natural” solution, a paste of baking soda and vinegar works best
  • For the very stubborn spots I used a paint scrapper to chip away at it
  • Once it’s all clean, use a Clorox Bleach Pen in the grout and leave it for several hours

(see previous posts about apt. #1 and apt. #2.)

This entry was posted in Boston. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Cleaning Boston Apt. #3

  1. Pingback: Boston Apt. #3 | the sommerkorns

  2. mccall says:

    i’m seriously considering flying you out here and paying you to clean my house. sheesh.

  3. Thanks so much for the grout tips I can not seem to get mine clean enough! I have my bleach pen and vinegar/baking soda paste ready to go.

  4. Amy says:

    I think those before and after pics should be posted on your refrigerator so everyone who comes over and see them and further appreciate the cleanliness they’re enjoying!

  5. Pingback: 2011 Recap and Hopes for 2012 | the sommerkorns

  6. Pingback: House hunting | the sommerkorns

Leave a Reply

