Boston Apt #1

Prepare to feel sorry for me.

Peter and I decided to live on campus. We figure it will save us about $12,000/year. $12,000 sounds like enough to make it a no-brainer, right? Wait until you see the pictures below to decide.

Welcome to Westgate apt 1306, our first apartment in Boston. Peter’s program started at the beginning of the summer, which made moving into campus housing difficult. We had to sublet apt #1, then move into a hotel for one night, then move into apt #2 which we are subletting for three months, then we move into our own apt in August.

When I first walked into apt #1, I was so excited about the view that I didn’t notice anything else. It’s it fantastic? I love it! It’s so fun to watch the sailboats and rowers on the Charles.

Then I noticed the floor. We haven’t let our bare feet touch this floor. And I thought my Portland floor was bad.

Then I noticed the bathroom. No, that is not my shower curtain.

Then I noticed the kitchen. My dad remarked that the kitchen is “the size on an orange crate”. And do you see that tiny oven? It’s depressing. I haven’t had the strength to bake anything in there. A week without pie = sad Sommerkorns.

I even found this in my cupboard. To you and me it’s a jar of crusty fish. To a Korean, it’s myulchi.

After 8+ hours of scrubbing, the place is still not clean.

So what do you think, would you live here to save yourself $12,000/year?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Boston Apt #1

  1. Lara says:

    Wowzers. Stay strong Liz.

  2. Lesli says:

    Hooray for more education right? I think you can do it for 12,000. We downsized for a mire 6000 a year. Sure our apartment wasn’t quite at that level, but you are saving twice as much as we did. If Brent could have figured out how to save 12, I’m sure he would have jumped. Unfortunately for him he wanted to have a baby when we first got married so I refuse certain levels for our children sake. Its much easier for an adult to not touch the floor than a child. Good luck, I’m sure your frugality can win. Although I agree, terrible stoves are the worst things in life.

  3. anna says:

    Did you vomit when you saw that jar of fish?

    We live in a 3,000+ SF house and our oven is probably that same size. I’m not kidding. A cookie sheet doesn’t fit sideways, but thankfully it fits the other way. My sister said she’s never seen an oven as small as ours, but I reassured her that they are smaller in camping trailers. It’s really not too bad, but I think that’s because I know someday it will be replaced.

    Yes, I would live there to save $12,000/year, as long as the fish were in the garbage. I am cheap and love saving money and it’s only temporary, right?

  4. Mary Kelly says:

    It will make for funny survival stories if you decide to stay…
    Plus, you will have an excuse to go out to eat all the time since that kitchen is a little scary to cook/bake in.

  5. mccall says:

    oh you poor thing.

  6. Katie C says:

    I heard about the fish. Yuck. Good luck! We had an oven that size in student housing. We called it the ‘Barbie play oven.’

  7. Katie C says:

    But are you still there? You don’t have to spend the whole summer there, right? That’s apt #1?

  8. Amy says:

    I’m pretty sure that jar of crusty fish is one of the nastiest things I’ve ever seen! Here are my thoughts – $12,000 is a lot of money, a LOT! I’m sure people have done far worse for far less. The place does look a little creepy and the kitchen is definitely depressing, BUT the kitchen will probably still function. I know you and I know you can get it clean enough and come up with a way to bake in it. 🙂 I’m thinking rugs may be the way to go, lots and lots of rugs. Maybe even carpet remnants. Cover as much of the nasty floor as you can and maybe you’ll forget the disgustingness that lies underneath your beautiful rug! 🙂

  9. Pingback: Boston Apt #2 | the sommerkorns

  10. Pingback: Welcome « an SO of an MIT LGO

  11. Pingback: Cleaning Boston Apt. #3 | the sommerkorns

  12. Pingback: Boston Apt. #3 | the sommerkorns

  13. Pingback: Boston Apt. #3 « an SO of an MIT LGO

Leave a Reply

