We’re moving!

Peter was accepted to MIT.

Yes, I said MIT. He’ll be doing an MBA and an MS in Systems Engineering at the same time. We’ll be there for two years.

This means that Peter is wicked smart, and works wicked hard.

Once accepted to MIT, they let you know with a phone call, then you receive your official acceptance letter the following day. The day the calls were going to be made was a Sunday. We were both so anxious all day. He even kept his phone in his pocket during church and every vibration sent us both through the roof with anticipation. I could barely sit through RS, wondering if Peter had received a call. When we got home from church we decided to chill out on the couch and try not to think about it (yeah right).

When his phone finally rang, it was unbelievably exciting. I hope I never forget the 15 minutes that followed the call, because I’ve NEVER seen Peter so excited and happy. EVER. Not even on our wedding day. No exaggeration. Peter even repeatedly checked his call log throughout the rest of day to make sure it really happened and we didn’t just dream it.

At the end of the day Peter declared, “I got into MIT, AND Liverpool beat Manchester United. This is the best day ever.”

The next day this box showed up. Have you ever seen a happier Peter? I haven’t. Apparently a fedex box can thrill him to the bone.

I’m so proud of him. He’s been working towards this for years, and we are beyond thrilled that it worked out. (Is it ok to brag on your blog if you are bragging about your husband? Is this super un-classy of me?)

We move to Boston in 8 days.

This entry was posted in Peter. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to We’re moving!

  1. jamie says:

    Go Peter! Congratulations.

  2. Lara says:

    So very proud of you Pete!!! YAAAY! Can’t wait to hear all your Boston stories.

  3. anna says:

    That’s pretty awesome. I’d be super excited to.

    (8 days? That’s quick!)

  4. Joni says:

    That is so exciting!!! We are headed out to Boston in July – can we visit you?

  5. Emily says:

    Way to go! What a great town to live in too. Good luck!

  6. Lindsay says:

    WAHOO!! Congratulations to Peter! You get to be east-coasters again!! And it is ok to brag on your blog about anything you want. It’s your blog after all! 🙂

  7. Pingback: Mission Ties | the sommerkorns

  8. Mary Kelly says:

    Brag away- that’s what blogs are for right? We are so excited for you guys! Spencer and I were talking the other night and we thought it would be fun to know the “East Coast Sommerkorns.” I’m sure you guys are going to love it and be so happy to back where your heart is. It was nice to have another “normal” couple in the ward- we’ll miss having that balance around.

  9. Amy says:

    I’m with Lindsay, bragging is totally acceptable, especially about something so prestigious and exciting! SO happy for you guys, YAY!!!! 🙂

  10. Alisa says:

    Congratulations! I’m with the ladies above–brag away!

    (Did you know Greg is studying Systems Engineering? It seems so hard…and boring. To me. And I thought I had a knack for enjoying boring things. Poor Greg: Every time he talks to me about his research, it takes all of my will power not to cover my ears, close my eyes, and hum really loud. Seriously, it’s that painfully uninteresting. Hopefully, you are a better person than I and will find Peter’s schooling fascinating. At least he’ll have management classes too.)

    Good luck with your move.

    And, again, we’re so happy for both of you!!

  11. Kenna says:

    Congrats to Peter! That’s awesome. 8 days though-WOW. I’ve been packing since March for our move to PA and I still have tons to do and another much needed month. You’re an amazing wife!

  12. Jennie VandenAkker says:

    Wahoo!! Congrats! I hope we get to see you there next week!

  13. Pingback: Organized Moving | the sommerkorns

  14. Pingback: Welcome « an SO of an MIT LGO

Leave a Reply

