Five lessons learned from my mother

1. Always wear a slip. Always. It’s also important to wear nylons for certain engagements.

2. It’s nice to make things look nice. For example, you should always put your food in a matching dish before putting it on the table. No tupperware allowed on the table. Prepackaged food (salsa, salad dressing, ketchup, etc) must be first transferred into a pretty dish before it’s allowed on the table.

3. Interesting = Interested

4. A television should never, ever be turned on if the sun is up. Television is for the evening only.

5. Keep a clean house. When I was a teenager a friend said to me, “Don’t you hate it when you get home from school and you go to pour yourself a bowl of cereal only to discover that the cereal box is stuck to the kitchen table because it sat in the spilled breakfast milk all day?” Um…no. I’d never experienced anything like that. Our house was always clean. My Mom didn’t just clean up our spilled milk and cereal boxes, she taught us how to clean. I’ve realized that in most cases cleaning is a learned skill, not a natural ability. I’m glad I learned how to clean, because Peter and I like living in a clean house.

Happy Mother’s Day.

This entry was posted in Family, My Opinions. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Five lessons learned from my mother

  1. jamie says:

    You know what I learned from your Mom? Bows should always be fluffed. I think about her every time I go to the temple πŸ™‚

  2. anna says:

    I am way, way too lazy for #2. Your mom would hate me. πŸ™‚

    But Jamie’s comment made me smile b/c my mom taught me the same thing. Or at least a very similar thing.

  3. mccall says:

    i love this. #4 is my favorite. i want to make that a rule in my house {it will be hard for me, but i love it}. thanks for sharing.

  4. Mary Kelly says:

    #1 and #2 and #6 are my mom too! I would also have to add no flip flops at church with #1.

  5. Mary Kelly says:

    Oh and going along with #5, a wise friend told me once that all you need to know about a house is if there is gunk on the lids of the condiments in the fridge. There are the houses with chocolate syrup running down the side of the bottle, ketchup gunk built up to form a paste and a little cakey, yellow disc at the top of the mustard bottle. Then there are houses that wipe that stuff off. I’m imagining your mom is a “wipe the lid” kind of house πŸ™‚ That’s what I strive for most of the time.

  6. Jennie VandenAkker says:

    Liz-

    You are too cute and such a sweet wife. Peter is lucky!

Leave a Reply

