Irish Soda Bread

Seminary can get reallllly boring. This week has been particularly boring for my poor class, so I decided that tomorrow we will take the day off from our regular lessons to learn about St. Patrick and the Nicene Creed. (As I typed that I realized it might be more boring than my regular curriculum in the eyes of a 16-year-old. Sigh.)

I figured we can’t discuss Ireland and St. Patrick without eating Irish food, so we will be eating soda bread with butter and jam. And homemade oreos with green frosting for dessert. Can you call it “dessert” at 6:00am?

This bread is so good that I decided to make it a new St. Patty’s day tradition, in addition to Green Dinner.

Irish Soda Bread
(recipe originally found here and very slightly adapted…aka more salt and sugar)

4 cups all-purpose flour
5 tbsp white sugar
1 tsp baking soda
1 tbsp baking powder
1 tsp salt
1/2 c butter, softened
1 cup buttermilk
1 egg
1/4 cup butter, melted
1/4 cup buttermilk

Preheat oven to 375 F. Lightly grease a large baking sheet.

Whisk together 1 cup of buttermilk and egg, set aside.

In a large bowl (I used my bosch), mix together flour, sugar, baking soda, baking powder, salt and butter. Add buttermilk/egg mixture to dry mixture.

Turn dough out onto a lightly floured surface (I used my pastry mat) and knead slightly. Form dough into a round and place on prepared baking sheet. Make sure your dough is shaped more like a disk (flat) than a ball (round).

In a small bowl, combine melted butter with 1/4 cup buttermilk; brush loaf with this mixture. Use a sharp knife to cut an ‘X’ into the top of the loaf.

Bake in preheated oven for 35-50 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center of the loaf comes out clean. Continue to brush the loaf with the butter mixture about every 15 minutes while it bakes.

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Recipes, Sides. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Irish Soda Bread

  1. Recipe Chefs says:

    Excellent recipe. Thanks for sharing this post. I really enjoy reading your blog. Feel free to check out our recipes.

  2. Kristy Cook says:

    Duuude, I was wondering why I hadn’t seen much from you guys on your blog:) I’m sure you are the coolest seminary teacher…haha I still love that it is your calling…awesome. Seriously though I bet you’re awesome! Hope you and your hubby are doing well! ahahaha Juuuust kidding!

Leave a Reply

